Dean Nathan F. Dupuis Leadership in Engineering Education Award

Posted on October 15, 2018

The Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science is seeking nominations for the Dean Nathan F. Dupuis award, a one-time award presented to deserving faculty member(s) in recognition of the 125th anniversary of the Faculty. The award bears the name of the first Dean of the “Faculty of Practical Science,” a position Professor Dupuis held for 17 years until 1911. The award recognizes outstanding sustained contributions to quality education in the Faculty that have greatly impacted students. Faculty members may be nominated for outstanding education of many forms: in the classroom, online, project-based activity, experiential learning, developing student support programs, educational leadership, and/or curriculum development. The nomination letter should describe the activity of the nominee over many years, and the impact it has had on students. Support letters and evidence of impact are encouraged but the entire nomination should be fewer than eight pages.

All members of the FEAS Faculty Board are eligible and may be nominated by other faculty members. The nomination should be sent by email to by Nov 30, 2018. The award will be adjudicated by a committee of faculty members selected by the Associate Dean (Teaching and Learning) with a strong track record of excellence in education. The committee may bestow this award on more than one faculty member.

Winners of the award will be invited to present a plenary talk about their educational practices as part of the 125th anniversary celebrations. They will also receive a grant of $15,000 to be used to support activity relevant to the award, e.g. curriculum development, travel to engineering education or higher education conferences, relevant workshops, educational research, or course development. Winners will also receive a free, one year membership in the Canadian Engineering Education Association and will be listed on the faculty webpage. The award will be formally acknowledged at Faculty Board.