Professor Carolyn Small Engineering Education Innovator Award

Posted on October 15, 2018

The Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science is seeking nominations for the Professor Carolyn Small Engineering Education Innovator Award, a one-time award presented to pre-tenure faculty members in recognition of the 125th anniversary of the Faculty. The award bears the name of the first woman graduate (BSc ’73) of the Faculty to be appointed as a faculty member. Professor Small joined the Mechanical Engineering/Clinical Mechanics group in 1987. The award recognizes outstanding educational innovation in the Faculty that positively influences the teaching practices of other instructors as well as the learning of engineering students. Faculty may be nominated for innovation in many forms: in the classroom, online, project-based activity, experiential learning, developing student support programs, educational leadership, and/or curriculum development. The nomination letter should describe the activity of the nominee, the impact it has had on students, and the impact it has had on other instructors at Queen’s. Support letters, and evidence of impact are encouraged but the entire nomination should be fewer than eight pages.

All tenure-track, but not-yet tenured, members of the FEAS Faculty Board are eligible and may be nominated by other faculty members. The nomination should be sent by email to by Nov. 30, 2018. The award will be adjudicated by a committee of faculty members selected by the Associate Dean (Teaching and Learning) with a strong track record of excellence in education. The committee may bestow this award on more than one faculty member.

Winners of the award will be invited to present a plenary talk about their educational practices as part of the 125th anniversary celebrations. They will also receive a grant of $15,000 to be used to support activity relevant to the award, e.g. curriculum development, travel to engineering education or higher education conferences, relevant workshops, educational research, or course development. Winners will also receive a free, one-year membership in the Canadian Engineering Education Association, and will be listed on the faculty webpage. The award will be formally acknowledged at Faculty Board.